يقوم الحرفي كاظم علي بصناعة الصناديق المبيتة وهي إحدى روائع الفن التراثي القديم، إذ كانت تستخدم في البيت البحريني لحفظ الملابس والمقتنيات الثمينة. بدأ الحرفي العمل عام 1998، وكان يقوم بتصنيع الصناديق المبيتة وتسويقها بشكل فردي، ثم التحق بمركز تنمية الصناعات الحرفية في عام 2004 ليتم عرض منتجاته في صالة العرض هناك.

تدرج الحرفي كاظم في عملية تطوير هذه الصناديق، بدءً بصناعتها بشكل تقليدي من الخشب العادي ومع أكتسابه للخبره أصبح يستخدم مواد جديدة كخشب "الأوك" الفاخر المستورد من تايلند، وكذلك أخشاب "المارتني" و"الساج" وتكمن فخامة هذه الصناديق في رقائق النحاس الأبيض المستخدم فيها والنقوش الهندسية المستخدمة فيها، بالاضافة الى إدخال خامات اضافية مكملة للصناديق كقماش المخمل الذي يوضع داخل الصندوق، واستحدث الكتابة على الصناديق من الخارج.

حملت أعماله أسلوباً متميزاً يتمثل بإتقان التفاصيل الدقيقة للشكل التراثي القديم وفي الوقت ذاته الاختيار الفائق للألوان التي تكسب الصناديق حلة أبهى، ويقوم الحرفي كاظم علي بتصميم الصناديق المتعددة الألوان والأحجام لمختلف المناسبات، كما أنه يقوم بالنحت والكتابة على قطع الخشب الفاخر لكافة المناسبات والأغراض باعتبارها قطعة فنية تضفي روح التراث.

وبعد اكتسابه الخبرة الطويلة والمهارة الدقيقة، تمكن الحرفي كاظم من افتتاح زاويته الخاصة في إحدى المجمعات التجارية منذ ثلاثة أعوام، وهو دائم التطوير في أعماله بحيث تواكب العصر وذوق المستهلك.

Craftsman Kadhem Ali makes “Sanadeeq Al Mubayatah” which is among the masterpieces of an ancient traditional art. Those boxes were used in Bahraini homes to keep clothes and valuables. Kadhem Ali started to make and sell the traditional boxes in 1998. He joined the Crafts Centre in 2004 and his products are exhibited there.

Kadhem Ali started out by making his boxes using ordinary wood. But after gaining experience, he began to use quality oak wood from Thailand and other woods, including the teak. The luxury look of the boxes is the result of the use of white copper tinfoil and carving of inscriptions, as well as the use of material such as velvet to line the boxes and the use of writing outside the boxes.

His boxes have his special style perfected down to the small details of the traditional appearance and the best choice of colours. He designs multicoloured boxes in various sizes for different occasions. He also carves and writes on fine wood pieces for all occasions and purposes and these artistic pieces add to the heritage spirit.

In view of his long experience, three years ago Kadhem Ali opened his own outlet in a mall. He continues to develop his creations to meet the changing consumer tastes.